Learning healthy habits.

17 Oct

OA is not a diet or weight loss program, but a recovery program. There are no rules about what you can and cannot eat, because each person is incredibly different.  For instance, I have had to cut out hamburgers almost all together, but I can have a cookie or cup of ice cream without consuming the whole container. Some people could not stop after having a single Oreo, but couldn’t care less about cheeseburgers.  I’m also certainly not going to stuff myself on green beans or broccoli either. These are not my particular trigger foods. I’ve also had to change certain behaviors that will lead to overeating. I have to force myself to prepare a plate when I eat, or buy individually packaged foods, otherwise I will be inclined to keep grabbing for more chips (or whatever) long after I’m full. I’ve also learned that the evening is when I’m more inclined to overeat-right when the kids go to bed and my husband and I watch T.V. If you’re trying to lose weight, it might be beneficial for you to really be aware of your habits and how you feel right after each meal. Are you the type of person who ALWAYS eats in their car? Did you know that some studies show a person tends to eat up to 3 times MORE when their mind isn’t focused on their meal? Some people insist on breakfast. I personally do better when I don’t eat breakfast. There is really only one way to lose weight-burn more calories than you consume. There are a million ways to get there. You just have to decide what works for YOU.

Leave a Reply

