Carpe diem: seize the veggie burger!

26 Oct

Well, this week has been a particularly good week for many reasons. I have been eating healthy, working out, and cooking instead of eating out. It’s amazing how changing one thing in your life can make you want to improve other things. Part of my “eating addiction” had a lot to do with eating out. Those of you with children especially understand that going to restaurants can be the only thing you do to socialize anymore. Unfortunately, that habit tends to add up quickly-both in pounds AND dollars. What I try to do is re-create healthy alternatives of what I like at restaurants at home. I had a veggie burger today with reduced fat bleu cheese and low calorie bread. The flavor was very similar to my favorite burger at Fuddrucker’s but half the calories and half the price. No, it’s not exactly the same, but it’s close enough for me to keep on track. I try to remember that I won’t be sad about avoiding certain bad foods once I’ve lost my weight. When I look back on life, I won’t remember what I ate, but what I DID. Now that I am slimmer, I feel so much better-and not just because of improved self-esteem. I physically feel better. Some people insist that you have to allow a “splurge” once in a while, or eventually you’ll break; however, I don’t think that’s true for everyone. Americans especially have a very unhealthy relationship with food which, I think, has led to the high rate of obesity. Food should not be a reward or an activity to do when you’re bored. It should not be used as a way to bond or bring people together, and it certainly shouldn’t be used as a mood stabilizer. We need it for survival. We don’t live to eat, we eat to live! If you’re living your life (as I was) constantly planning your next meal, then are you really living at all?

One Response to “Carpe diem: seize the veggie burger!”

  1. Sweet D October 27, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    You go girl….you should try the “Cook this not that” cookbook…I love it….It takes restaurant food and makes it healthier and is sooo delicious.

Leave a Reply

