All About the Small Things

29 Dec

Sometimes when we make big changes in life, we have to start small. By nature, humans have a difficult time coping with change, so it helps us to adjust by beginning with a little task. For instance, in Weight Watchers, they suggest making several small weight goals for ourselves. That way, no matter how many pounds we have to lose, we feel better equipped to reach it by taking it slowly. I am looking to change my lifestyle. I don’t like the word “diet” because to me, it implies that it is a change that is only temporary. For me to believe that I could diet, lose all my weight, and then go back to my usual way of living and stay thin is preposterous. It also isn’t healthy, which is really my main goal in all of this. I realize that my body will NOT be the same as before having two children, and I’m okay with that. I think having realistic expectations helps us as well. I also try to make small changes in my eating habits that I can sustain for a lifetime. Could I live without carbs forever? No, and probably not even a month. Could I live without full-fat mayo for a lifetime? Sure. Do I have to have flour tortillas, or can I make do with corn? Etc…. Everyone has their own preferences, so it’s important that we understand what we can and can’t do without. I can’t live without cheese. Period. I never want to. But it’s okay, because the little sacrifices I’ve made in other areas allows me to have it from time to time. Thanks for reading, and good luck everyone!

Leave a Reply

