Groundhog’s Day

16 Jul

Do you ever have days when you feel like you’re in the movie “Groundhog’s Day?” Every day starts the same-with the same good intentions to eat healthy and exercise, and then each day ends in guilt and frustration? Well that is what I’ve been experiencing lately-it’s also known as the “rut.” Even though I was doing so well just months ago, I can’t seem to pull myself out of eating poorly. Usually for me, the rut is immediately followed by giving up. Well I REFUSE to do that this time. Even if I have gained a few pounds, I have to keep reminding myself that it’s still MUCH better than it was a year ago. I think part of the reason we get stuck in these patterns is because we tend to be hard on ourselves. We use terms like “cheat” and “fail” and “bad” to describe how we’ve been eating. I think there is a certain amount of shame and guilt associated with those words in the first place. Instead of eating a piece of cake and moving on, we think, “oh why bother, we’ve already ruined the whole day” (or week, or program) which in turn, gives us permission to eat even more out of control. Today, if you veer off in a different direction than where you want to be (and this can be applied to much more than diet) simply dust yourself off, and move forward. Don’t let one measly moment ruin your day, and certainly not your entire fitness plan. Good luck everyone, and I hope to take my own advice today!

Leave a Reply

