TMI

4 Aug

Last week was hell. Every day I kept starting over my diet, and every day I would fail. Not only was it disheartening, my stomach was really angry with me. I’ve been having stomach issues for a few years. They’ve been more severe in the last 6 months. Here’s where my title came from: blood. Quite a bit of it, actually. There has been blood on and off for the last 6 months, paired with abdominal pain. And it’s not knock you off your feet pain-it’s in the lower abdomen and it feels like menstrual cramps. I went to a low income clinic to have them check it out for me-let’s just say that the doctor was less than thorough and figured it was no big deal. I have another appointment with a different clinic at the end of August, and I’m kind of scared. The internet has brought out the hypochondriac in me and I’m of course thinking the worst, which is easy to do when you have 5 out of 6 symptoms of colon cancer. So, send good vibes, prayers, and positive energy my way, please. Aaaaanyway, since I began the Atkin’s diet on Wednesday, my stomach has been much better. I’ve also felt like I’m in much better control of my eating, and while it is not a diet I will do for life, I just needed a change and it’s working for me right now. I hope everyone is having a good week, and I will keep you updated on my health.

4 Responses to “TMI”

  1. Lisasays August 5, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

    Glad you’ve got another doctor’s appointment! I’ll be thinking of you, Katy, girl! Think positively!

    Also, I’ve been kind of doing a modified Atkins for the past few months. I think that’s what made the big difference for me. Just getting off cereal and sandwiches was huge for me — also, eating cheeseburgers without the bun. I know it sounds crazy, but it’s been working. (I’m a big cheeseburger nut! Carl’s actually makes a low-carb burger, I love). I say modified, because I just can’t give up my vanilla yogurt and strawberries or 1 or 2 oatmeal cookies a few times a week. 🙂 After I lost 15 or so pounds, I started giving myself “free days” on the weekends, and that has seemed to help keep me from getting in a rut or hitting a plateau. Just my experience…

    Anyway, wishing you good luck and sending positive thoughts your way!

  2. katythelady August 5, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    No, I think that’s great. Even later on in Atkin’s you are able to eat some carbs…but usually refined sugers (cookies, candy) and bread is still off-limits. I’m not sure I could give up bread for life, but it’s working for me right now and that’s what I’m going to try to stay focused on. Let me know the next time you are going to the trails-I would love to tag along!

  3. Cassidy August 21, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    I have the same issue and I have been diagnosed with IBS. Mine typically flares with stress but can also be based off what I eat. So yes, there are tons of scary things on the internet but I have had the same thing going on for five years now and haven’t been diagnosed anything beyond IBS (I have gone to the doctors for check ups just to make sure because seeing blood there is still very scary!) Hope the same is for you.

    • katythelady August 22, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

      Thanks for that. I sort of hope it is IBS as well, but then again, it might be nice to have something that has a clear treatment. I don’t know. I’ve been miserable for a while and I know that I will have at least some relief in knowing what’s wrong. I go to the doctor today, and I’m sure they will just do tests, but hopefully I will find out within the next couple of weeks at most.

Leave a Reply

